Yangon City is the Gate way and economic center of Myanmar.Yangon is always busy with trading of products from the Delta,which is the country of rice bowl.KingAlaungphaya who founded the Konbaung Dynasty in 1755 had annexed “Dagon” and managed to complete the unification of the whole Myanmar nation.As king Alaungphaya knew that the victory of Dagon was his victory over the whole lower Myanmar he named it “Yangon” with the meaning danger was terminated in the city. Later,Yangon has continued to exist for nearly a century.but in 1852 when it was annexed by the British ,the city was rebuilt and renamed it” Rangoon”.From that time onward Yangon came to be know as Rangoon in the world.Lietenant Fraser from British Engineer Corps had drawn the new town plan and was believed also to have drawn that of Singapore.His town plan was like a chessboard crisscrossed by main roads running from the north to south and form east to west.Yangon is the city is the gateway of Myanmar. Former Capital of Myanmar and famous for its Grand Shwedagon Pagoda.The elegant Shewdagon Pagoda is the most famous and Landmark of Yangon.The city is Evergreen and cool with lush tropical trees, shady parks and beautiful lakes.
Shwedagon Pagoda is the most popular and well-known pagoda in Yangon. The pagoda is one of the main tourist destinations in Myanmar. Located at No.1. Shwedagon Pagoda Road. Dagon Township. in Yangon. this pagoda is the most notable building in Yangon. The Shwedagon Pagoda is a great cone-shaped Buddhist monument that crowns a hill about one mile north of the Cantonment. The pagoda itself is a solid brick stupa (Buddhist reliquary) that is completely covered with gold. It rises 326 feet (99 m) on a hill 168 feet (51 m) above the city.According to legend, the Shwedagon Pagoda was constructed more than 2,600 years ago,Two brother namely,Tapussa and Phallica coincidently met the recently-enlightened Buddha during their visit to India on business.They offered some kind of cake to the Buddha.Lord Buddha the rewarded them eight strands of his hair for their meritorious deed.At the suggestion of devas(divine begins)the current Singuttara Hill ( the place at which the Glorious Shwedagon Pagoda stands now)where other sacred relics of Buddha’s three predecessors were enshrined was chosen as a suitable site for construction of the pagoda in which those hair relics may be enshrined so that devoted Buddhist of future generations could pay homage to them.
Over 2000years ago, Hair Relics of Buddha came from India to Myanmar and a mass of people headed by a thousand officers of guard received them with reverence.thus the pagoda was named Botahtung (A thousand officers of guard).Its interior is hollow.It has a height 40metres.
It is situated in the heart of Yangon.The City Hall and the Bandoolapark in which the Independence Monument was are quite close to the sule pagoda.
Its structure is different with the base of the pagoda in octagonal shape.It is 144ft and 9.5inches high.
Kyeik-Hmw-Wun Yay Lei Pagoda (Thanlyin)
Kyauktan Ye Le Pagoda is one of the attractive places in Yangon. It is known formally as “Kyaikhmawwun Ye Le Pagoda”, and was built with Buddha’s relics inside. It is located on a small island in HmawWun Creek, a tributary of Yangon River in Kyauktan Township, Yangon Region.
In Buddha era 215,there was a Kingdom(in the south of Yangon)called Pada,ruled by King BwggaThena,He acquired some of Buddha’s Hair Relics from his hermit teacher and enshrining them,he built this pagoda which was then named Kyeikhmawkataw.It was a small pagoda that rises about 10 feet.
In1271, Lawyer U Ba Tun and his wife DawThet had a dream and came to the site of this pagoda. They found the small pagoda broken down and so rebuilt it to a height of 51feet with four-tiers. The pagoda then got name Kyeik-Hmaw-Wun.
Yangon City Hall
Yangon City Hall stands in the heart of Capital Yangon,where almost all the city roads meet.The construction of this Hall started since 1928 and it was also meant for the office of the Yangon City Development Committee. Its building plan was drawn by U Tin, renowned architect ,finished up floor by floor in 1928,1934,1936and 1938 respectively. It had taken 11 years (1982-1938)and it is said to have cost 32 lakh of the period.